Hiding God’s word in my heart…

image

I have decided to try and memorise the book of Philippians *gulp*. I have been doing pretty well at memorising verses and collections of verses, with the children, over the last year and I have decided to try the same approach to memorising a whole book of the Bible.

We just do a tiny amount each day – literally minutes – after lunch, we read aloud a scripture, saying or poem… that’s it! When we are first learning a new poem or scripture, we probably only do one line a day, because we always put some simple visuals/ actions to help us remember the verse, which we eventually drop as we learn the words. I write what we are memorising on 3″ by 5″ pretty coloured index cards and they sit in a basket on the dining table, with our Bible and some prayer resources we use for devotions/ prayer time. 

image

Also, where we can we use the Seeds Family Worship music resources too and sing the verses and listen to them while we are doing chores, because actually the music is beautiful and pretty cool (if you are an Amazon Prime member you can get most of their albums in prime music for FREE in Amazon music and I notice many albums are also on Spotify).

For memorising Philippians, I found this resource on-line by Tim Brister, which handily chunks the verses in the ESV translation of the Bible I use, as well as some top tips for memorising longer passages and a little pep talk by Doug Whitney at the end (I really love Doug Whitney, he is totally awesome).

I know I’m not going to be able to do it in the same timeframe and I decided, it doesn’t really matter how long it takes, what matters is that I’ve made a start and I will keep going, here a little, there a little… line upon line, line upon line. That is my Isaiah Principle, which I blogged about here.

God’s blessings to you all

Michaela 🙂 xx

P.S. If you wanted to start with smaller amounts, there is a fab new resource released this week – Matters of the Heart Scripture memorisation challenge – which is 52 weeks of learning a verse a week. You can find a detailed review at my friend’s blog here

P.P.S  I chose Philippians as I love it, it’s a relatively short book and I have already memorised quite a bit of it in little verse chunks, so I am mainly going to have to learn the bits in-between those.

 

Leave a Reply

